There no longer is any snow at my house, well, none enough to matter. There are patches here and there, ice mixed in, but mostly you see the bare fields and the dead lawn grass. Yet NOAA snow maps show two to four inches or four to eight inches. I have no idea what they are smoking, but we definitely don't have that much snow!
Generally speaking, the NOAA maps report less snow that what I have - so if they are that messed up where I live...can I trust the 12 to 20" where I want to run the dogs? Probably not.
So I didn't take the dogs out yesterday, or Saturday, and hadn't really thought about taking them out today...till my friend said that there is still a good base of snow down in Landgrove.
Excitement! Get the laundry hung and the bags packed and then the fear settles in.
Are your ribs really up for this? You could screw it up for the rest of the season, you know. What happens if something happens on the trail? The dogs could get hurt. You could get stuck out there over night. What if you REALLY lose the team?
Fear is contagious. It spreads. It is a mind-killer till you think of nothing else.
I wasn't really scared to run the dogs, other than getting them hurt from my inexperience until my friend had several bad runs with her dogs. So the things that happened to her could happen to me...
Sometimes it's hared to get out there, especially when one can't easily run from their backyard any more.
But maybe Alfred said it best in Batman Begins: Why do we fall? So we can learn to pick ourselves up.
So the dogs and I go. To let the dogs run and for me to enjoy their fun!